Handy Grandpa

A day in the life of Grandpa Boen

Heat wave in Minny-sota!

Leave a comment

What a gorgeous weekend and week ahead for us up in the North country! My son and I finally got the chance to get out ice fishing this past Saturday to a small lake about and hour South of here. What a great day!

Packed up our portable ice shelter, one of Blake’s friends and a nephew! Oh, and I packed a bunch of snacks and goodies! We got to the lake about 10am.. which is a little late for the crappie bite but we weren’t there to catch fish.. we were there to get away. It was fun! I bought some wood at a local store so that we could make a bonfire on the lake and cook some hotdogs.. it was awesome! Hotdogs, Pringles, licorice and other junk food! We were there for about 5 hours.. we had to leave before the late afternoon bite which kind of sucks but all in all.. it was nice to get away for the day and just chill out.

As for the fishing.. I had two bites.. thats it. As for the weather, it was a balmy 28 degrees that day but the wind was a little stiff out of the South.. which made it a little chilly for me since I was sitting outside so the boys could stay warm.

The week ahead looks awesome! They are talking 45 degrees up here! Thats nuts! Maybe Spring will come early or is this just a teaser?

I hope your all having a wonderful Winter and just know that I really enjoy reading your blogs! Shannon

Author: shannonboen

I'm from Thief River Falls, MN Married with two kids, a son in law and a grandson! I stay very busy. I'm a 16 year volunteer on the local Fire Dept, a 10 year member of the School Board, worked 25 years at the local Junior College as a Groundskeeper. I also enjoy officiating high school basketball in the Winter months. My wife Darla and I have been members of Young Living Essential Oils for the past 4 years.. which changed our lives. We love to teach about all the health benefits YL Oils have!!! I love my family and life!

Leave a comment