Handy Grandpa

A day in the life of Grandpa Boen

FRONT PORCH REMODEL LAST SUMMER..

Leave a comment

HELLO!

Last Summer we bought a different house and moved across town!  So in the next few weeks I’m going to share with you some of the projects I have done to the new house since moving in!  Today I’m going to share with you the front porch.

When we first took a look at his house from the road.. My wife Darla said “It doesn’t have any curb appeal” and needs a facelift and some bling.. it was pretty blah! Here is a picture of the porch when we bought it..

porch

So as you can see, it was your basic treated lumber railing with 4″x4″ posts. I thought that maybe by stripping all the hold stain etc off of it and re-staining it, that it would look great again.. but after many hours of applying stripper and pressure washing, it wasn’t going to give us the look that we wanted.  The front door is gorgeous.. but you can’t see it!!

So after some looking around and getting some great idea’s from Darla’s sister..  we decided to add some curb appeal.  I started by taking down all the old railing.. once I got that off, we were saying wow.. it looks much better without a railing! More open and inviting!  So instead of a dark old railing, we wanted to brighten things up a bit and find a way to show off our front door!  Here is the finished product..

porch2

Can you see a difference?  lol!  So I took out the other wood posts completely and added these 4 fiberglass columns, I stained the porch deck with a real dark stain to match the front door.. hey! You can see the front door!!!!  I also added the white boards across the front of the steps and porch to add some bling.  Actually in this picture, the columns aren’t yet painted.. I have them painted white now.  I also notice the rain spout looks like a train ran it over..  lol.  I have a new on there as well.  This was a fun project that I hope added some curb appeal for those that drive by 🙂

I think this project from start to finish was under $1000!  Not bad!  It helps when you can do the work yourself and not have to hire someone.  I hope you enjoyed this project!! Stay tuned for more projects from my “honey-do” list!!   Take care and if you have any questions or comments please feel free to ask!! Shannon

Author: shannonboen

I'm from Thief River Falls, MN Married with two kids, a son in law and a grandson! I stay very busy. I'm a 16 year volunteer on the local Fire Dept, a 10 year member of the School Board, worked 25 years at the local Junior College as a Groundskeeper. I also enjoy officiating high school basketball in the Winter months. My wife Darla and I have been members of Young Living Essential Oils for the past 4 years.. which changed our lives. We love to teach about all the health benefits YL Oils have!!! I love my family and life!

Leave a comment